The Social Media Life

Welcome to my very first blog post!

Lets kick it off with a discussion about social media.

 

“Hi, my name is Andrew and I am a social media addict.” 

Photo 13-3-17, 4 31 26 pm

Source: My iPhone screenshot

Now, let me take you on a journey of once I get into bed and open my iPhone.

One by one, I open Instagram, Facebook, Snapchat, Twitter, Youtube, WhatsApp and once I have scrolled, opened and clicked on everything imaginable, it is then my eyes get heavy and I’ll go to sleep.

Is this healthy? Probably not, but there is so much content, news and pictures out there that keeps me entertained at night.

Screen Shot 2017-03-13 at 4.52.13 pm.png

Source: Sensis Social Media Report 2016

According to the ‘Sensis Social Media Report of 2016’, it states that 35% of us check social media as the ‘last thing before we go to bed’.

What apps do you like to use before putting your phone away at night?

Screen Shot 2017-03-13 at 5.01.24 pm.png

Source: Sensis Social Media Report 2016

The living room is a place where we would expect a place to converse and enjoy other people’s company, 69% of us say that we use this area as a place to access social media. 63% of us are also saying that a time to use social media is after work / in the evening.

With these statistics in mind, a high percentage of Australians are using a time of day where it is basically the only time to see your family during the week on social media.

In my opinion, social media should be used while we are trying to pass time or when you are by yourself. This could be on your train ride to work, on the toilet or right before you go to sleep. Looking down at your phone and not engaging with the people around you in a space like the dinner table or with others in the living room are examples of how social media is taking over the lives of some Australian’s.

How many times a day do you think you check your social media accounts and do you think it is too much?

Leave a Reply

